Cheese Veggie Omelet, Dumplings and Chicken Chili

Because outside looked like this throughout the whole weekend, some creativity had to come out of being snowed in (i.e. whipping up a decent meal with what you already have in the fridge)! I believe the snow definitely has some sort of physiological effect on people.

Our arms and legs refuse to move, our bum stays nestled underneath the bed covers or deeply seated on the couch. The t.v. miraculously decides to play marathons of our favorite movies and lo and behold, there’s one more bottle of wine left in the fridge.

I love it when, after leaving your bed to go to the kitchen for a cup of tea/outside for the paper, and you crawl back in bed – the warmth in the covers from your sleep is still there. Ohh it’s enough to coax me into never getting out..of bed..ever.

After a quick peek outside my window, it was enough to see that the snow was not letting up any time soon and the inches on the ground were steadily rising. At this point, the last thing I wanted to do was make a trip to the grocery store and so for the moment, I shopped around in my fridge for something I could make for breakfast.

Let me just say for starters that I am a huge fan of savory breakfasts – fried egg, cheesy grits,  eggs benedict – ohh the list is endless. Had I went shopping, I probably would have made something of the like, but instead I made a cheese and veggie omelet with a side of dumplings (yes, I had dumplings for breakfast and they are DELISH!)

You’ll need:

2 eggs
1/3 cup frozen veggies
sprinkle of cheese (whatever you like)
dash of salt and pepper
2 tbsp olive oil

Step 1: Heat the pan with olive oil on medium-high and when hot, add the frozen veggies. Saute for 5-10 minutes or until heated through

Step 2: While the veggies are heating up, beat two eggs until frothy. Season with salt and pepper.

Step 3: Turn the heat to low once the veggies are hot, and slowly pour in the eggs. Add a sprinkle of cheese. Or in my case, a handful. Give it about a minute or two on this side.

Step 4: Fold over the left side and right side of the omelet and then flip it over. Give it another 2 minutes on this side. Make sure there are no runny uncooked parts of the egg left before you plate it (salmonella eeek! ).

The dumplings were pretty straightforward. I bought them frozen and followed the directions on the bag.  You could microwave them too but I prefer a nice golden brown sear to them.

Later on the afternoon, a few friends and I got together to watch a basketball game and I decided to make a friend’s chicken chili recipe that looked way too good and too easy to make – perfect for snowed-in symptoms. I tweaked the recipe a little by dicing the chicken and sauteing it in a pan prior to adding it to the mix (which shortened the cook time up to 45 minutes instead of 6-7 hours).

The original recipe recommends slow cooking the chicken for 6-7 hours in a crock pot, taking it out and shredding it, and then put it back into the mix. I couldn’t imagine how sauteing the chicken could be any different – it tasted delish all the same!

You will need:

3 boneless skinless chicken breasts
2 cans Hormel chili w/ beans
1 can sweet yellow corn (drained)
1 can northern white beans (drained)
1 can kidney beans (drained)
1 can black beans (drained)
1 jar salsa
1 can tomato sauce
1 pkg shredded cheese
1 small tub of sour cream
3 tbsp olive oil
salt & pepper

*serves 6-7 snowed-in hungers

Step 1: Combine chili, beans, corn, salsa and tomato sauce in a pot and heat through then leave on simmer.

Step 2: In the mean time, coat a saute pan with olive oil and heat on medium-high

Step 3: Dice the chicken into cubes and season with salt and pepper.

Step 4: When pan is hot, drop in the chicken and saute for about 5-7 minutes or until the chicken is cooked through and has achieved a nice golden brown color.

Step 5: When chicken is cooked, mix it into the chili and let it simmer for an additional 10 minutes. Taste and season with salt as needed then serve!


You can top these with a variety of things like cheese, sour cream, or hot sauce to your liking. Serve with dinner rolls or potato chips. I prefer kettle cooked with ridges or croutons, mmm.

For all you others who are snowed in or not, this recipe is a must!! You can even leave out the chicken (if you’re feeling ultra lazy) and I think it would taste just fine. If you love corn, (like me) double the cans.

Ultimately, the best thing about snow is that it eventually goes away. But until then, I’m grateful that it gave me an opportunity to get creative in the kitchen.

Until next time, food lovers!

Happy cooking!

10 Comments

Filed under Cooking

10 responses to “Cheese Veggie Omelet, Dumplings and Chicken Chili

  1. RLV

    Mmmm! I’m going to make that cheese omlet this week. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Did you move down to Monument? That’s what the top picture looks like. Those dumplings look perfect! Ohh and those Filipino plates, haha 🙂

    • LOL @ the plates. Let me tell you how much I wished I had some plain whites on hand. Oh well, next time! I’m still at the same place, the picture was just taken while I was driving around the city.

  3. justine

    I had some of the leftover chili today…. SOO YUMMM! =D And seriously, that was the fastest I’ve ever seen anyone make a whole pot of chili.

  4. karenmaywrites

    The dumplings. I want.

  5. those eggs look perfect and i bet they were delish! i too feel ya on that leaving your bed for a sec all to come back to the warmness of the spot where you were layin..feels so good!

Leave a Reply

