Fiddlehead Ferns

Ever heard of these? They look like something you would find in an enchanted forest, namely Snow  White’s. At least I’d like to think so. Ever since I saw a contestant on Top Chef use them in a dish, fiddleheads have been rolling around in my head.

I’ve been wanting to get my hands on some of these for awhile and now that we’ve reached warmer climes, I might just try! I’ve read they taste like a mix of green beans and asparagus. I can just imagine the crunch!  I love the unfurled tips. I think that’s why I like them so much.

Picture source: The Kitchn

Cooking them is as simple as a sautee in butter and shallots. MmMmm I can imagine this alongside a nice piece of grilled salmon and creamy mashed ‘tatoes. But first, I need to get my hands on some. I know you can order them online, but I’ve never ordered veggies online before, have you?

I always like trying new things in the kitchen and this one is pretty high up on the list right now…except for one teensy tiny thing. Apparently, these adorable ferns come with a toxin that will wreak havoc on your tummy unless you cook it thoroughly. Uhm, ok.

Will this little caveat keep me from tryin them out?

Prolly not.

I like to live dangerously.

Especially if it involves this:

from: www.recipezaar.com

5 Comments

Filed under Cooking

5 responses to “Fiddlehead Ferns

  1. Kat

    I remember having this @ Broad Appetit a long time ago! Also, I saw these being sold @ the Forrest Hill Farmers Market so you should go there and check it out! It’s called the SOJ Market Umbrella and it’s on Saturdays from 8 to about noon. And don’t forget to invite me when you cook them hahah.

  2. mitzie

    Oh ate! Brave indeed! ew. they look scary. So how did they taste?

  3. Never seen anything like these before! I was reading with excitement up until you said they are toxic…. :-p You’ll have to try them and let me know if you were able to withstand any symptoms… jk I probably would try them too if I knew where to find them in a store…

Leave a Reply

