Creamy Mashed Potatoes

So what do you do when you have leftovers? Are you the kind who gets creative with it? Make-an-omelet out of it kind of person? Or do you let it mold in your fridge and pretend like you’ve forgotten it was there – so you don’t feel so bad when you throw it out? I’ve been guilty of both. A shame really, the latter.

Let me just say, it has been such a change cooking for an audience of one. Well, mostly one, nowadays. I do have  family (literally next door, and we have dinner often) with whom I can pop on over and share my over abundance of food with but ohh how I miss the cooking my roommates and I used to do together.

Plus, one of us always managed to clean off the leftovers – mostly the boys, naturally.

After making the beef stew, I had a few potatoes, cream, and veggies left in the fridge so I decided to throw this together to pair with the stew. It was divine. So divine I had to give most of it away before I turned into a potato myself. Sharing is caring, after all. Here’s the how to:

You’ll need:

6 large red potatoes
2/3 cup light cream
1/2 stick butter
3 tbsp cream cheese
salt & pepper to taste
1 stalk green onion, washed well; chop and discard roots


Step 1: Fill a deep pot of water and get it boiling. In the meantime, scrub the red potatoes clean, quarter them and set aside. Chop the green onion into small rings and set aside. When the water is boiling, drop the potatoes right in and cook them until a fork easily goes through with no resistance. Drain the water when the potatoes are done and get to mashing.


Step 2: Mash the potatoes with a masher, or if you’re a poor college student like me, a fork. I like my potatoes with a bit of a texture so I leave in a few chunks. While the potatoes are still piping hot, add the cream cheese, butter, cream, salt, and pepper. Mix, mix, mix & taste, taste, taste. Then feel real good that you did your workout that morning. Add the green onion last and fold them in. Serve!

If you’re a bit daring, add a sprinkle of shredded cheddar cheese, bacon bits and a dollop of sour cream right on top. You’d be well on your way to decadent heaven.

Or you can have it plain and simple just like this.

It’s the little things in life that make the world go round, after all.

Leave a comment

Filed under Cooking

Leave a Reply

